Skip to content
January 28, 2015 / John Sheridan

Belated Best of 2014

IMG_0896
IMG_0814
IMG_0810
IMG_0850
IMG_0809-0
9781846688232
9781846688188
9781616148775

Ok, having taken an extended leave of absence from updating the blog I’m back with my favourite books of 2014. 🙂

I didn’t manage to read as many books as in the previous couple of years due to personal circumstances but did manage to clear some books from the dreaded TBR pile that had been there for awhile so that was good. Name checks in particular in this instance go to: Jo Nesbo’s The Leopard, Laura Lippman’s Baltimore Blues (Tess Monaghan #1), Thomas B. Cavanagh’s Head Games and Anders Roslund & Borge Hellstrom’s Cell 8. Only the latter of these ultimately featured in my best of the year listing below but I was glad to sample my first Tess Monaghan and will read more eventually. Another first this year was finally reading my first Jack Reacher but Personal didn’t make the cut.

Jo Nesbo does feature with The Son which put his previous standalone Headhunters in the shade. Return visitors will know of my fondness for Messrs Connolly and Connelly but this year’s Harry Bosch misses out in favour of JC’s The Wolf in Winter which managed to make my jaw drop on at least one occasion (“….but you can’t do that to…”)!

Award for author of the year has to go Adrian McKinty as I read 5 of his books in 2014 including all 4 featuring RUC detective Sean Duffy and if you thought there were only 3 please catch up with the latest Gun Street Girl.

Anyway without further ado my favourite books in 2014 were:

Anders Roslund & Borge Hellstrom’s Cell 8
Jo Nesbo’s The Son
John Connolly’s The Wolf in Winter
Pierre Lemaitre’s Irene
Stephan Talty’s Hangman
Adrian McKinty’s The Cold Cold Ground, I Hear The Sirens In The Street & In The Morning I’ll Be Gone

Honourable mentions also go to:
Matteo Strukul’s The Ballad of Mila
Dan O’Shea for Penance and Greed.

Leave a Reply

