Skip to content
December 8, 2012 / John Sheridan

My Reading Pattern So Far This Year

A post by Jose Ignacio Escribano at The Game’s Afoot drew my attention to a post originally made by Margot Kinberg at Confessions of a Mystery Novelist. I had set a few goals for this year to diversify from my US-centric bias amongst other things and while the year isn’t over yet some of the stats look like this:

– still predominantly male authors with just Marcia Clark, Tess Gerritsen, Lisa Brackman & Casey Hill (sort of) making inroads so predicting somewhere around 10% for the year

– country breakdown looks as follows: 6 European authors of which 1 Norwegian (Jo Nesbo of course but 3 books if I count the children’s book of his I read to my son), no UK yet somehow, 5 Irish. I also read 1 from Australia (but I failed to finish that one). The other 33 authors were from the US including multiple entries from Don Winslow and Marcia Clark.

– “New To Me” Authors: for the last couple of years this has hovered around 6 – 8, I wanted to get this up to 10 for 2012 but currently just short of 30 so this is one area that I have really managed to deliver on!

2 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Margot Kinberg / Dec 8 2012 10:47 pm

    First, thanks very much for linking to my blog post – I really really appreciate it. It’s good to hear that you’re trying branch out and stretch yourself. I respect that.

  2. Jose Ignacio / Dec 9 2012 7:50 am

    Thanks for the link John

Leave a Reply

