Skip to content
April 17, 2012 / John Sheridan

Review: A Detailed Man by David Swinson

Amazon
Amazon UK

I love discovering new authors particularly when they are unheralded and I feel I’ve gotten lucky indeed with David Swinson’s debut novel “A Detailed Man” but I can’t claim too much credit as I simply accepted the author’s offer of a review copy which I took up based on reading the first few pages of the Kindle sample and being immediately taken with it. Luckily, the rest of the book lived up to my expectations and I thoroughly enjoyed it.

This is a police procedural written in the first person featuring Detective Ezra Simeon. When we meet him he has been assigned to the Cold Case unit as he attempts to recover from Bell’s palsy which has caused his face to droop on one side leading people to think he’s suffered a stroke from overwork. Following the death of a friend he’s reassigned to pick up his homicide cases including one particularly high profile case. Spotting similarities between this case and one of the cold cases he was working leads him to suspect there is more than meets the eye to this case even after the prime suspect is eliminated from inquiries.

In common with other novels written in the first person we are privy to his inner thoughts which cover the cases he’s working, his colleagues and his relationships. This isn’t high octane stuff but it’s well written and what comes across strongly is the authenticity thanks primarily to the author’s many years served with the DC police in which the novel is placed. This is one author I hope publishes more because I would like to continue reading more about Detective Simeon who I think offers vast potential.

My rating is 4.5 out of 5.

Leave a Reply

