Skip to content
January 28, 2012 / C.T. Henry

AWARDS: Edgar, Hammett, and Dilys Nominees

The Mystery Writers of America has announced its nominees for the 2012 Edgar Allan Poe Awards, honoring the best mysteries published in 2011. Winners will be announced on April 26th.

There are a lot of new authors on this year’s Edgar list, which is a good sign, but I’m definitely rooting for Philip Kerr, whose praises I’ve been singing on this blog for a long time.  It’s time that he was recognized for his excellent mysteries.  That said, I’m looking forward to reading 1222 by Anne Holt.  It looks like a great story.

__
Best Novel:


Best First Novel by an American Author:


Best Paperback Original:

The Hammett Prize is given to “a work of literary excellence in the field of crime writing by a U.S. or Canadian author.” The nominees for this year’s awards are:

The Independent Mystery Booksellers Association has announced its nominees for the 2012 Dilys Award. This is given to “the mystery title of the [previous] year which the member booksellers have most enjoyed selling.”

Good luck to all the nominees!

2 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. bibliopirate / Jan 28 2012 5:52 pm

    They look like a great bunch of great books, thanks for the list.

  2. Gigistar / Jan 30 2012 2:15 pm

    Always looking forward to these lists as useful starting points to select future reads for the year.

    A few days ago I went through the synopsis of each of the 10 Edgar nominees you showed above. I also read some of their first pages on the preview featured by Amazon. PURGATORY CHASM and ALL CRY CHAOS went straight into my To-Be-Read List as they both struck me as great potential reads. My taste, of course.

    I don’t see myself tackling GONE as it is the fifth instalment in a series featuring the same main character called Jack Caffery, and I usually like to read series in the right order. Similar issue I have with 1222, but I could reconsider my position if somebody convinced me that they can be just as satisfactory as stand-alone books.

Leave a Reply

