Skip to content
March 21, 2010 / C.T. Henry

REVIEW: A Cure for Night by Justin Peacock

This legal thriller, from first time author Justin Peacock, is absolutely compelling!  Here’s an excerpt:

“That’s what the criminal law is: it’s how the day tries to correct the night’s mistakes. Most of my cases, people have done something they never would’ve dreamed of doing in broad daylight.”

“What does that make us?” I said. “The night’s janitors?”

“We’re absolutely that,” Myra said, sipping her cosmo. “What else do we do but clean up after it? That’s why we’ll never run out of work. Not unless someone invents a cure for night.

After a scandal costs him his job at a top-flight corporate law firm, Joel Deveraux finds himself defending petty criminals in the Brooklyn public defenders office.  He eventually teams up with veteran trial lawyer, Myra Goldstein, on a murder trial, which takes readers on a gritty, urban tale about the nature of justice.

It’s not a thriller in the sense that it’s a page-turner.  Instead, it’s a book that speaks with a social conscience and written by someone who has spent time quality time in the streets and in the courtroom.

Fans of The Wire and The Practice will love A Cure for Night!

Verdict: HOLY COW BATMAN! (Translation: Highly Recommended!)

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: