Skip to content
July 19, 2009 / C.T. Henry

Best Reads of 2009 (so far)

It’s more than halfway through 2009 and time to evaluate what I’ve read so far.  For some reason, I’ve been reading a lot of my favorite authors (John Connolly, C.J. Sansom, Michael Koryta, and C.J. Box) rather than new authors.  Nevertheless, George Pelecanos and Ross Macdonald, who I’ve never read before, wrote superb mysteries.

Of the 20 books I’ve read so far in 2009, here’s my top ten list:

1. Right as Rain – George Pelecanos (2001)   See review
2. The Killing Kind – John Connolly (2002)  See review
3. Sovereign – C.J. Sansom (2007)  See review
4. Envy the Night – Michael Koryta (2008)  See review
5. What the Dead Know – Laura Lippman (2007) See review
6. Free Fire – C.J. Box (2007)
7. Prayers for the Assassin – Robert Ferrigno (2006)
8. The Black Angel – John Connolly (2005)  See review
9. The White Road – John Connolly (2003)  See review
10. The Chill – Ross Macdonald (1964)  See review

rightasrainkilling kindsovereignenvy-the-nightwhatthedeadknow

free fireprayers-for-assassinblack angelwhite roadthe chill

2 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Corey Wilde / Jul 19 2009 2:09 pm

    An interesting list. I hadn’t considered doing a mid-year evaluation. I have GOT to get around to reading The Chill!

  2. Hard Boiled / Jul 20 2009 2:46 pm

    I put Right As Rain on my TBR list. Currently reading a couple of Chandler’s. The Big Sleep and Farewell, My Lovely. I’ve been putting off reading some of the classics until I found these in an omnibus.

Leave a Reply

