Skip to content
March 20, 2009 / C.T. Henry

New Additions to the IMBA’s Best Mysteries List?

In 2000 the Independent Mystery Booksellers Association looked back at a century of murder and compiled a list of the 100 Favorite Mysteries of the Century.  Booksellers, who belong to the association, submitted their favorite mysteries and the results were printed in Jim Huang’s paperback, 100 Favorite Mysteries of the Century. I’ve used the list as a guide, especially to make sure that I eventually read all the classics. Since no author appears more than once, it gives readers one title that IMBA deems the author’s best.  While I’ve read Sir Arthur Conan Doyle, Agatha Christie, Dashiell Hammett, and Raymond Chandler, the list introduced me to authors that I hadn’t read before, like James Crumley and James Lee Burke.  I’m not finished reading all of the books on the list, but I intend to.

Even though the list is limited to books published in the 20th century, I wondered what books, published after 2000, deserve their place in this esteemed pantheon of “Best Mysteries”.  After much deliberation, and taking account the prolific number of superb books these authors have written, I believe the following three books should (and will) be on IMBA’s future “Best Mysteries” list.

Laural Lippman – What the Dead Know (She also deserves credit for her Tess Monaghan series)

Val McDermid – A Place of Execution

George Pelecanos – Right as Rain

What authors and books, since 2000, would YOU add?  Please comment below.


4 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Cathy / Mar 20 2009 6:39 pm

    I certainly agree with Lippman and McDermid! I’ll have to see what other titles I can come up with….

  2. uncadaverenmiblog / Jul 6 2009 8:24 am

    I agree with your suggestions. But I would include too Batya Gur’s Murder on a Kibbutz: A Communal Case and something from Fred Vargas.

    • henryct / Jul 6 2009 6:26 pm

      What would you recommend that I read by Fred Vargas?

      • uncadaverenmiblog / Jul 6 2009 7:03 pm

        Wash This Blood Clean from My Hand and This Night’s Foul Work (her last two books translated from French) are great.

Leave a Reply

