Skip to content
January 30, 2009 / C.T. Henry

Stolen Book Questionnaire

So I stole this questionnaire from Corey Wilde, who stole it from the Kittling: Books blog. I normally don’t do this sort of thing, but I thought it might be fun.  Sometimes you learn a thing or two about your reading habits too.

On your nightstand now:
There are several books on my nightstand: Dennis Lehane’s The Given Day, Charlie Huston’s The Mystic Arts of Erasing All Signs of Death, and Dave White’s When One Man Dies.  However, the one that I’m currently reading is Michael Koryta’s Envy the Night. I loved his first book, Tonight I Said Goodbye, and I heard that Envy was one of the best mysteries of 2008.  We’ll see…

Book you’ve “faked” reading:
Guns, Germs, and Steel by Jared Diamond.  It’s a thick history book that I was reading for professional development.  I just couldn’t get into the dense writing style of the author.  When it was time for the book discussion, I faked it.

Book you’ve bought for the cover:
I really liked William Lashner’s Falls the Shadow paperback cover, but I also like the author.  So it was a win, win.

Favorite book when you were a child:
I loved Encyclopedia Brown series, The Three Investigators series, and the Lord of the Rings trilogy. Ahhh, the memories!

Book that changed your life:
There are three books that will always be special to me.  Sir Arthur Conan Doyle’s The Study in Scarlet introduced me to Sherlock Holmes, and I was forever hooked on mysteries thereafter.  The Sparrow by Mary Doria Russell is a sci-fi novel that sparked my desire to reach for the stars.  I continue to quote the book’s timeless philosophy.  Finally, the most recent book to knock my socks off is Carlos Ruiz Zafon’s The Shadow of the Wind.  It’s a near perfect book.

Favorite line from a book:
There are so many good ones that I can’t just pick one –
“I have a job to do and if you don’t like the way I’m doing it, kindly get the hell out of my way.”  -Robert Serling, Something’s Alive on the Titantic

“It was a blonde. A blonde to make a bishop kick a hole in a stained-glass window” – Farewell, My Lovely by Raymond Chandler

“It occurred to me that the problem with doing nothing is not knowing when you’re finished.” – John Corey in Nelson DeMille’s Plum Island

Top five favorite authors:
Tough one!  Dennis Lehane, Lee Child, Michael Connelly, Robert Crais, and Charlie Huston

Books you recommend as regeneration when people say, “I’m bored by almost all contemporary writers”:
I would respond with: Charlie Huston, C.J. Sansom, John Connolly, Marcus Sakey, and John Hart

Book you can’t believe that everyone has not read and loved:
Some of the books that I read aren’t for everyone. So I’d say: Down River by John Hart and The Lincoln Lawyer by Michael Connelly

Book that no one has heard about but should read:
A Dangerous Road by Kris Nelscott and Fatal Flaw by William Lashner.  If you haven’t read these, shame on you!

Book you are an “evangelist” for:
I’ve got three: Dennis Lehane’s Gone, Baby, Gone, Robert Crais’ L.A. Requiem, and Charlie Huston’s Already Dead. These are all REQUIRED reading.

Favorite Book by a First-time author:
A Cold Day in Paradise by Steve Hamilton.  I still remember the rush this book gave me when I finished it.

Book that you agree is a Classic:
The Last Good Kiss by James Crumley.  The best writing I’ve ever set eyes on.

Book that thrilled you the most:
Tell No One by Harlan Coben.  My heart was racing the whole, entire time.  I had to read it in one sitting.

Book you most want to read again for the first time:
The Lord of the Rings trilogy.  I remember saying to myself as a teenager: “I hope I don’t die before I finish the trilogy.”

Okay, I’m finally finished.  No harm done.

2 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Corey Wilde / Jan 31 2009 1:18 am

    It must have been hard to only pick one John Corey line. He has so many great zingers.

    You’ve cited some mighty fine reading material here.

  2. Cathy / Feb 3 2009 5:15 pm

    I always love reading everyone’s responses to these questions! You’ve mentioned a few books on my TBR shelves: The Sparrow, The Mystic Arts of Erasing All Signs of Death, A Cold Day in Paradise; and one that I’ve read: A Dangerous Road.

Leave a Reply

