Skip to content
January 20, 2009 / C.T. Henry

2009 Dilys Award Nominees Announced

Finally, award nominees from someone who has a clue.  After the dismal Edgar nominations handed out by the Mystery Writers of America, the Dilys nominees were announced today.  Each year, the Dilys Award is given by the Independent Mystery Booksellers Association to the mystery title that they most enjoyed selling. Previous winners of the Dilys Award include Louise Penny, Val McDermid, Robert Crais, Carl Hiassen, Dennis Lehane, Julia Spencer-Fleming, Jasper Fforde and Colin Cotterill.


Trigger City – Sean Chercover
The Victoria Vanishes – Christopher Fowler
Silent in the Sanctuary – Deanna Raybourn
Child 44 – Tom Rob Smith
Dawn Patrol – Don Winslow

To continue my sarcastic comments: Wow!  I’ve actually heard of all of these authors…

Congratulations to the nominees!



Leave a Comment
  1. Corey Wilde / Jan 20 2009 8:57 pm

    This does look more like the list of nominees I expected to see from the Edgars.

  2. john sheridan / Jan 21 2009 10:19 am

    Only read one – don winslow but have sean chercover waiting in the wings to be read at any time. That compares to not having read or purchased any of the books nominated for an Edgar under the best novel, best first novel or best paperback original. does seem strange that in a year when many of what i would consider to be among the big guns had books outs such as john connolly, michael connelly, george pelecanos, dennis lehane that none of them managed to get nominated.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: