Skip to content
December 19, 2008 / C.T. Henry

Books I’ve Read in 2008

On par with previous years, I’ve read over 46 books in 2008. However, I’ve noticed that this year I’ve gravitated away from traditional mysteries.  Instead, I’ve been impressed with a number of books that could be labeled simply as “Crime Fiction.”  Most of these novels are from fairly new authors, including Marcus Sakey, Duane Swierczynski, John Hart, and Dave Zeltserman.  All in all, 2008 was a good year, and I can’t wait to read more from these authors in 2009.

Please remember: I only review books on this blog that I can highly recommend to others, and those titles are in BOLD.

The Cleaner – Brett Battles
Killing Rain – Barry Eisler A Drink Before the War – Dennis Lehane
Relative Danger – Charles Benoit
The Last Assassin – Barry Eisler No Country For Old Men – Cormac McCarthy
The Big Sleep – Raymond Chandler*
High Crimes – Joseph Finder Looking for Rachel Wallace – Robert B. Parker
Farewell, My Lovely – Raymond Chandler
Power Play – Joseph Finder Appaloosa – Robert B. Parker
Big City, Bad Blood – Sean Chercover
Immoral – Brain Freeman Cold Pursuit – T. Jefferson Parker
Bad Luck and Trouble – Lee Child
A is for Alibi – Sue Grafton An Unquiet Grave – P.J. Parrish
Deal Breaker – Harlan Coben
Down River – John Hart* No Colder Place – S.J. Rozan
The James Deans – Reed Farrel Coleman
Falling Angel – William Hjorstberg Reflecting the Sky – S.J. Rozan
Angel’s Flight – Michael Connelly
Already Dead – Charlie Huston The Blade Itself – Marcus Sakey
Black Ice – Michael Connelly
No Dominion – Charlie Huston Blindsighted – Karin Slaughter
The Unquiet – John Connolly
Half the Blood of Brooklyn – Charlie Huston The Blonde – Duane Swierczynski
Every Dead Thing – John Connolly
The Shotgun Rule – Charlie Huston Small Crimes – Dave Zeltserman
The Watchman – Robert Crais
Caught Stealing – Charlie Huston The Brass Verdict – Michael Connelly
Indigo Slam – Robert Crais
A Welcome Grave – Michael Koryta The Guards – Ken Bruen
The Last Good Kiss – James Crumley*
Falls the Shadow – William Lashner
Chasing the Darkness – Robert Crais

_

* Review coming soon

4 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Corey Wilde / Dec 19 2008 6:37 pm

    Angel’s Flight is my favorite Connelly book; I haven’t liked anything by him since then nearly as much.

    I’ve gotta add Dave Zeltserman to my reading list. I’ve been seeing his name come up a lot lately.

    • henryct / Dec 22 2008 4:17 am

      You definitely should try The Lincoln Lawyer. It’s outstanding. I just finished the and sequel and latest Mickey Haller book: The Brass Verdict. It blew me away. Connelly really is amazing.

  2. MysterLover / Dec 26 2008 9:16 pm

    I loved both Falls the Shadow by William Lashner and Blindsighted by Karin Slaughter – why did you not enjoy these novels?

    I love your blog, and will be adding many of the books on your reading list to my To-Be-Bought List!
    Thanks…

    • henryct / Dec 27 2008 3:57 am

      I thought both books were good, but not great. William Lashner has written better books than Falls the Shadow. Fatal Flaw is an outstanding book that far surpasses Falls the Shadow. I can’t wait to read his latest – A Killer’s Kiss.

      Blindsighted was a fine thriller; however, some of the names were too similar – Jeb/Jeffrey and Hank/Frank – which made it a bit confusing at times. I also thought the killer was way too obvious. All in all, it read like a good first novel.

Leave a Reply

