Skip to content
October 13, 2008 / C.T. Henry

2008 Macavity Awards Announced

This weekend, the Macavity Awards were announced at the Baltimore Bouchercon.  Named for the “mystery cat” of T.S. Eliot’s Old Possum’s Book of Practical Cats, the Macavity is bestowed annually by Mystery Readers International.

Below are the list of nominees with the winner checked .

Best Mystery Novel:
Reed Farrel Coleman: Soul Patch
John Connolly: The Unquiet ***
David Corbett: Blood of Paradise
Deborah Crombie: Water Like a Stone

Laura Lippman: What the Dead Know


Best First Mystery:
Tana French: In the Woods
Joe Hill: Heart-Shaped Box
Lisa Lutz: The Spellman Files
Tim Maleeny: Stealing the Dragon
Matt Beynon Rees: The Collaborator of Bethlehem


Sue Feder Memorial Historical Mystery:
Rhys Bowen: Her Royal Spyness
Ariana Franklin:
Mistress of the Art of Death
Jason Goodwin: The Snake Stone
Clare Langley-Hawthorne: Consequences of Sin
Joyce Carol Oates: The Gravedigger’s Daughter


Congratulations to the Nominees & Winners!!!

*** Books that I’ve read and highly recommended

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: