Skip to content
September 8, 2008 / C.T. Henry

Stuck in a Rut: Have You Read an Excellent Book Lately?

I’ve read six books in a row, and while some were good, they weren’t great.  The purpose of this blog is to recommend truly excellent mysteries and thrillers.  Therefore, I don’t publish negative reviews.  Only the ones that survive scrutiny are worthy enough to be mentioned here.

So I’m asking my readers: What was the last book you read that you would describe as “excellent”?

4 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Cathy / Sep 8 2008 6:37 pm

    The last mystery I closed the cover on and thought, “Wow!” was Dreaming of the Bones by Deborah Crombie. Characterization, pace, setting, all the plot lines coming together…just an excellent read for me. I completely understand your aim in recommending only the best, but I do have to admit to curiosity about the six books you’ve read that were good but not great. If you don’t want to mention them here on your blog, would you mind emailing me privately about them? (cgcole1@cox.net)

  2. henryct / Sep 8 2008 6:53 pm

    I read Crombie’s Dreaming of the Bones a few years ago and loved it. She can really write!

    I’ll email you the last six books I read.

  3. Kerrie / Sep 8 2008 9:21 pm

    I recently read (and reviewed) WHEN WILL THERE BE GOOD NEWS? by Kate Atkinson which was excellent from a number of angles. She is particularly good at welding humour into her story.

  4. henryct / Sep 8 2008 9:42 pm

    I haven’t read any of Atkinson’s books yet. Is this the best book (in your opinion) that Kate Atkinson has written so far? I heard that Case Histories was good too.

Leave a Reply

