Skip to content
August 6, 2008 / C.T. Henry

Haven’t read a good book in awhile?

Haven’t read a good mystery or thriller in ages?  Have trouble selecting your next book?  I have two designated areas on my bookshelf.  One is for my favorite authors, like Robert Crais, Michael Connelly, Dennis Lehane, Charlie Huston, and more.  The other shelf is for “New” authors, who I’ve never read before.  To guarantee that I have truly satisfying reading experiences, I alternate between reading a “New” author and a “Favorite” author.  This way I read books written by up-and-coming or classic authors and then I can fall back to the characters who I really love.  Sometimes a “New” author becomes a “Favorite,” which is what you really want to happen.  Try it.  I guarantee that it will broaden your knowledge of the genre and introduce you to new favorite authors.

On the same note, I alternate between sub-genres too.  For example, if I just read a police procedural, the next book might be a hard-boiled P.I. or a historical mystery.  Sometimes if I just read a mystery, I might read a thriller afterward.  This way, I never tire of reading my favorite genre.

Leave a Reply

