Skip to content
August 15, 2007 / C.T. Henry

Totally Up Front

Like many fans of mysteries and thrillers, I have my biases. Although I read the occasional cozy and police procedural, I prefer hard-boiled P.I.s, legal thrillers, and historical (especially British post-WWI) mysteries. At the moment, I love mysteries set in the Great Outdoors, like Canada (Giles Blunt), Michigan (Steve Hamilton), Wyoming (C.J. Box), and Minnesota (William Kent Krueger). I’m also a huge fan of thrillers like Lee Child’s Jack Reacher Series, Barry Eisler’s John Rain Series, and, of course, anything by Harlan Coben.

Finally, I prefer when authors write in the first person than in the third person.  Why?  I feel like I’m part of the story more.  Because of this, I also have to admit that I tend to read books written by male authors than female authors.  For some reason, female writers seem to use the third person more.  It has nothing to do with sexism. I’ve read Minette Walters, Deborah Crombie, Julie Spencer-Fleming, Laura Lippman, Charles Todd, Elizabeth George, and a host of others.  However, only a few female authors seem comfortable with the first person, and these tend to be my favorite: S.J. Rozan, Kris Nelscott, and Laurie R. King.

These biases affect what books I choose to read and review on this blog.  Have you ever thought of what your biases are?

One Comment

Leave a Comment
  1. Dirt / Jul 12 2010 5:13 pm

    My biases are for hard boiled and the first person as well. I prefer PI’s over all else, though I do stray every now and again such as when I read Fletch.

Leave a Reply

