Skip to content
August 15, 2007 / C.T. Henry

Best First Novels in a Great Series

First Novels

Since 1990, I’ve been a serious fan of mysteries. Here’s perhaps the quintessential list to get you started with some of today’s best authors.

The Best First Novels in a Great Series Since 1990:

1992 Black Echo by Michael Connelly (Harry Bosch series)
Police Procedural
1994 China Trade by S.J. Rozan (Bill Smith / Lydia Chin series)
Private Eye
1994 A Beekeeper’s Apprentice by Laure R. King (Mary Russell series)
Private Eye
1994 One for the Money by Janet Evanovich (Stephanie Plum series)
Private Eye
1994 A Drink Before the War by Dennis Lehane (Patrick Kenzie/Angela Gennaro series) Private Eye
1996 A Test of Wills by Charles Todd (Inspector Rutledge series)
1997 The Killing Floor by Lee Child (Jack Reacher series)
1998 A Cold Day in Paradise by Steve Hamilton (Alex McKnight series)
Private Eye
1998 Iron Lake by William Kent Krueger (Cork O’Connor series)
Private Eye
2000 A Dangerous Road by Kris Nelscott (Smokey Dalton series)
Private Eye
2001 Forty Words for Sorrow by Giles Blunt (John Cardinal series)
Police Procedural
2001 Open Season by C.J. Box (Joe Pickett series)
Police Procedural
2002 Open and Shut by David Rosenfelt (Andy Carpenter series)
Legal Thriller
2002 Rain Fall by Barry Eisler (John Rain series)
2004 Darkly Dreaming Dexter (Dexter Morgan series)


One Comment

Leave a Comment
  1. Judi / Sep 14 2007 10:41 am

    Very cool site! My reading is set for the foreseeable future. Thanks!!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: